Heartfelt Homecoming

Since the Wizards drafted Jonathan Leathers with the 25th pick last month, we have learned a lot about the 22-year-old.  He will graduate from Furman, where he met Clint Dempsey during a recruiting visit, with his business degree this spring, which he intends to one day use for a career in investment banking.  He likes to rock climb and read; his favorite book is the Bible.  And to top it all off, he can handle his own in the kitchen.

Well recently came word that his selection by the Wizards was laced with irony.  A twist of fate, if you will.  Courtesy of the Wizards newest supporter and Jonathan’s No. 1 fan:

I would like to share a true story with you. My son, Jon Leathers, was drafted by the Kansas City Wizards last month. I am from Humboldt, KS but due to my father’s job we moved away when I was five. Growing up my favorite movie was “The Wizard of Oz.” My Mother’s name was Dorothy, but we didn’t have a dog named Toto. Now I can truly say that the Wizards brought me back to Kansas…GO WIZARDS!!!
                                                                                                         — Vera Stanley Leathers
Leave a Reply

