Final Farewell

Always weird seeing a long-time Wizards player in another team’s colors for the first time, huh?

Mlsnet.com’s Bob Rusert talked to a candid Jose Burciaga in his article, “Burciaga heads west for the Rockies.” Below are a few of Jose’s comments:

On KC: “I spent seven great years here in Kansas City. I’ve grown as a person, as a human being, and as a soccer player. It’s going to be very hard for me to leave. I’ve met a lot of great people. Kansas City is always going to be in my heart because this is where it all started for me.

I wish the Kansas City Wizards nothing but the best, except when we play them.”

ON BEING BENCHED: “I know I messed up in the game against New York, but I don’t think you take a seven-year veteran out when you really need him…

ON THE JLB FOUNDATION: “[Kansas City] is where it started, and it’s still going to stay there… This won’t be the last time you’ll hear of me in Kansas City.”

3 Responses

  1. “ON BEING BENCHED: “I know I messed up in the game against New York, but I don’t think you take a seven-year veteran out when you really need him…”

    Tal about denial…you take out a veteran if he SCREWS UP like you did in the NY game, Jose. Good riddance.

  2. it’s a shame.
    I think without a salary cap we would have kept him and saw him bring his game back up to the level we expect from him.

  3. Well, good luck Jose, except when we play the Rapids.

Leave a Reply

