Oz City Exclusive Interview: Aaron Hohlbein

Not long ago I was able to email some questions via the FO to our two players who recently traveled to China with the US U-23 National team, Aaron Hohlbein and Michael Harrington. I tried to ask a few interesting questions to give our fans a better insight to who theses guys are as well as what it is like to travel with the Nats. Below are Aaron Hohlbein’s answers, later today I’ll post Harrington’s questions as well.

What does a typical day at national team camp look like?
Everyday was 7:30-8am breakfast, followed by 10am practice. Right after practice we would lift and/or take ice baths. After practice we went back to the hotel for lunch. From there we had a couple hours to relax before we went back for our second session of the day, which was either circuit training or weight lifting. After lifting we would have another ice bath, head back to the hotel for dinner, and if we didn’t have a team meeting we would have the rest of the evening off.

Do you know most of the guys on the team having played against or with them growing up? If so which ones?
I knew a few of the guys who were at the camp through playing against them with a youth Regional ODP team. I also know Tim Ward pretty well. We played state ODP together back in Wisconsin. Its funny how everyone on the team either knows someone who you know or has heard of someone you know.

In what ways is there more or less pressure playing for the national team?
I think it goes both ways when you’re playing for the national team. There is definately more pressure when you’re under constant critique while trying to make the squad as well as having the pressure of representing your country. But if you take a step back and look at what you’re able to do, you realize how much of a privilege it is. Also, being able to play with such great players, you can’t help but have fun and that takes a little of the pressure off.

What sort of activities do the players take part in when not playing soccer?
Most of the guys play cards, a game called “22” or some good old fashioned Texas Hold’em poker. There are also a few avid Halo players.

Who is the funniest person on the U23 team?
I would have to say Charlie Davies. He always had something to say.

Hohlbein, I noticed you majored in history, what year did The War of 1812
end? Without using Wikipedia can you tell me the day that Martin Luther
nailed the 95 theses on the church door in Wittenberg?

I am not sure, but I think the war of 1812 ended in 1814. And thanks to Alex Trebec and my daily dose of Jeopordy, I know that Martin Luther posted the 95 theses on our modern day of Halloween, October 31st. (Oz City: 1/2 ain’t bad, War of 1812 actually ended in 1815,  but you are right on with Luther )

What song/album are you listening to most lately?
Radiohead‘s new album, “In Rainbows”

When in China with the team did you try eating exotic things such as cat?
I didn’t go out of my way to try any exotic foods, but I’m sure there was a little teriyaki dog and sesame cat along the buffet table at some point.

Other than the Wizards, what teams (in any sport) do you follow?
Arsenal, the Green Bay Packers, and any Wisconsin Badger team

10 Responses

  1. This is great! I’d love to see more like it!

  2. I love Radiohead! Hohlbein’s my new favorite player!

  3. teriyaki dog and sesame cat – yummy

  4. […] Oz City Exclusive Interview: Aaron Hohlbein […]

  5. I must say, Aaron did a better job opening up with these. Not sure if he has more personality than Harrington or just more willing to do this. Anyway both are a fun read, thanks for getting these, I look forward to seeing more like these.

  6. I just want to say great job on your blog website! It’s coming along very nicely!! I’ve even set your page on my firefox toolbar ^_^

    Please keep it up!!

  7. Nice job on the interviews. I wish we could get real sesame cat in KC.

  8. Its nice to know that professional soccer player are hooked on halo as well

  9. […] Oz City, a site that covers the Kansas City Wizards, has a Q-and-A with Wizards defender Aaron Hohlbein. […]

  10. I’d give him full credit. 1814 is a perfectly acceptable answer, given that the Treaty of Ghent was signed in late December of 1814. News didn’t exactly cross the Atlantic quickly in those days.

Leave a Reply

